AustLit logo
image of person or book cover 5240097899785509069.jpg
This image has been sourced from online.
y separately published work icon The Books of Elita selected work   novel  
Issue Details: First known date: 2018... 2018 The Books of Elita
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'In the omnibus edition of The Books of Elita, a glorious epic of political intrigue, sorcery and romance: magic can no longer lie hidden when an ancient evil threatens the country, perfect for fans of Robert Jordan and Robin Hobb.'  (Publication summary)

Contents

* Contents derived from the London,
c
England,
c
c
United Kingdom (UK),
c
Western Europe, Europe,
:
Jo Fletcher Books , 2018 version. Please note that other versions/publications may contain different contents. See the Publication Details.
Exile's Return, Kate Jacoby , single work novel fantasy

In a land in turmoil, at a time when history meets destiny, an exile and an orphan become caught in a prophecy greater than the imaginings of its creator, a prophecy older than time itself... Robert Douglas, Earl of Dunlorn, returns to Lusara after three years of self-imposed exile to find his beloved country enmeshed in the tyranny of the Guilde. The once peaceful and prosperous land has been crushed by the usurper Selar, but while the vanquished people cry out for a saviour, events are unfolding that will determine the fate not just of Lusara, but of the whole world.

Now Robert Douglas, possessed of powers of sorcery greater than any before him, must struggle against his conscience, for though he has sworn never to oppose the usurper King, he can no longer watch his homeland being destroyed by the ruthless Guilde and an uncaring monarch. Then he discovers the orphan Jenn- a different kind of sorcerer, whose powers may be as great as his own. But while Robert and Jenn struggle to understand the magic they command, there is another sorcerer opposing them, one who would destroy all to twist fate to his own dark purposes... Kate Jacoby

Black Eagle Rising, Kate Jacoby , single work novel fantasy
'When Robert Douglas wielded the Word, the sorcerer Nash was grievously wounded, his Malachi army destroyed and Elita almost razed to the ground. And while Robert has spent the last five years in hiding, Nash has been draining the lifeblood from magic-users to regain his own powers and to strengthen the unholy Bond that ties the usurper King Selar ever closer to him. Robert, reviled the length and breadth of the land as a sorcerer, has not been idle in his exile: he has been raiding the Guildehalls, repositories of what few texts on magic there are, to find ways to keep the Prophecy from destroying all he holds dear. And Jenn, though kept virtual prisoner by Tiege Eachern, her brutish husband, has had the solace of her son Andrew as he grows ever more in his father's image. But the usurper, King Selar plots to spread his iron rule even further, coveting Mayenne, his brother's kingdom. Eacherns plots to send Andrew from his mother so he can subdue his young, unwilling bride ... and Robert plots to raise an army and free his beloved country from the dual threat of Selar and Nash, the Angel of Darkness.' (Source: Kate Jacoby author website)
Rebel's Cage, Kate Jacoby , single work novel fantasy

Eight years after the Battle of Shan Moss and a new tyrant reigns. As King Kenrick dabbles in forbidden sorcery, he furthers his plans to build an empire. But though kenrick's evil ally, Nash has survived his epic battle with Robery Douglas, and his talons now extend into other countries, his wounds have left him mutilated, his powers a fraction of what they were. Nash must strike down his enemies to find one who will regenerate him before Robert forces him to another fight.

But the face of the battle changes when kenrick reverses the laws against sorcery, and the reaction throws the Enclave into a crisis which mobilizes its strongest allies. Robert Douglas, condemned rebel and focus of the mysterious prophecy gathers his allies and prepares the country a last final push for freedom. Even as jenn struggles to protect her son Andrew, Robert enlists him to help free Lusara. But to succeed, he must first find the fabled Calyx, then battle the enemy within him before he faces his enemy, Nash the Angel of Darkness.

These are the darkest days of the Silent rebellion, when causes founder, and faith stumbles. These are the cold, bleak days of winter...Kate Jacoby.

Voice of the Demon, Kate Jacoby , single work novel fantasy
The Enemy, the Ally and the Angel of Darkness have been named... and the prophecy of the Key is coming to pass, promising chaos and destruction for Lusara and its people. The Enemy is Robert Douglas, Earl of Dunlorn and now Duke of Haddon, banished from the Enclave by the Key, for he will neither bow to the will of the ruling council, nor will he use his sorcerous powers to overthrow the usurper King Selar. But he cannot rest content at Dunlorn, for his reckless brother Finnlay, believed dead by most of Lusara, has left the sorcerer's hidden colony and is headed straight for trouble. The Ally is Jenn, now returned to her family at Elita and learning to live the life of a noblewoman, whilst using her own powers secretly to help those disobeying the Guilde's punitive new laws. Then Lusara's Queen asks her aid, and Jenn must once again call on Robert and the Bond they share. And the Angel of Darkness masquerades as a Guilde Alderman, using his position close to the King to foment his own malevolent plans for Lusara - and the Ally. A sorcerer of immense power, descended directly from the maker of the Key and the Word of Destruction, he seeks both artefact and spell, the one to enhance his own powers, the other to wield... Caught against the human face of prophecy, the Enemy, the Ally and the Angel of Darkness must each face their own greatest weaknesses. Kate Jacoby
Trial of Fire, Kate Jacoby , single work novel fantasy

Millennia ago, a great prophecy was forged: the Enemy, the Ally and the Angel of Darkness would come together, and out of their meeting would come chaos and destruction for Lusara and all its peoples..For years the Enclave has hidden the salti Pazar, those gifted with magical powers, from the eyes of the Guilde and of those who would wish to see them all destroyed. But now the mountain community has been revealed and its sorcerers must scatter across Lusara.

The Enemy, Robert Douglas, the greatest sorcerer Lusara has ever known, brought together the Key and Calyx, two magical artefacts, hoping for enlightenment and power. Instead, as he struggles for control, the Ally, Jenn, leader of the Salti Pazar, must save her people from the Angel of Darkness, who has found them and is hot on their heels. After twenty-five years of tyranny, Lusara is finally boiling over into rebellion, not just against the evil King Kenrick, but also against the fully regenerated Nash, the Angel of Darkness...Kate Jacoby.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 19 Oct 2018 12:22:53
X