AustLit logo
Dervla McTiernan Dervla McTiernan i(12932942 works by)
Born: Established: Cork (County),
c
Ireland,
c
Western Europe, Europe,
;
Gender: Female
Heritage: Irish
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

BiographyHistory

Dervla McTiernan is a Perth-based, Irish-born author and lawyer.

Born and raised in Ireland, McTiernan was trained for and practised the law there before immigrating to Western Australia. As of 2018, she was working for the Mental Health Commission in Western Australia.

Her first novel, set in Ireland, was published in 2018.

Most Referenced Works

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon The Good Turn Sydney : HarperCollins Australia , 2020 17196868 2020 single work novel crime 'It all started with a little favour ... Police corruption, an investigation that ends in tragedy and the mystery of a little girl's silence - three unconnected things that will prove to be linked by one small town. While Detective Cormac Reilly faces enemies at work and trouble in his personal life, Garda Peter Fisher is relocated out of Galway with the threat of prosecution hanging over his head. But even that is not as terrible as having to work for his overbearing father, the local copper for the pretty seaside town of Roundstone. For some, like Anna and her young daughter Tilly, Roundstone is a refuge from trauma. But even this village on the edge of the sea isn't far enough to escape from the shadows of evil men.' (Publication summary)
2021 shortlisted Ned Kelly Awards for Crime Writing Best Novel
2021 longlisted Davitt Award Best Adult Crime Novel
2021 shortlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian General Fiction Book of the Year
2021 longlisted Indie Awards Fiction
y separately published work icon The Scholar Sydney : HarperCollins Australia , 2019 14975069 2019 single work novel crime

'From the author of The Ruin comes a compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed.

'When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal--her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy--it has even funded Emma's own ground-breaking research.

'As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy?

'A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.' (Publication summary)

2020 joint winner Davitt Award Readers' Choice Award
2020 shortlisted Ned Kelly Awards for Crime Writing Best Novel
2020 shortlisted Davitt Award Best Adult Crime Novel
2020 winner International Awards International Thriller Writers' Thriller Awards Best Paperback Original Novel
2020 shortlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian General Fiction Book of the Year
y separately published work icon The Rúin Sydney South : HarperCollins Australia , 2018 12932996 2018 single work novel crime

'Galway 1993: Young Garda Cormac Reilly is called to a scene he will never forget. Two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack - are waiting for him at a crumbling country house. Upstairs, their mother lies dead.

'Twenty years later, a body surfaces in the icy black waters of the River Corrib. At first it looks like an open-and-shut case, but then doubt is cast on the investigation's findings - and the integrity of the police. Cormac is thrown back into the cold case that has haunted him his entire career - what links the two deaths, two decades apart? As he navigates his way through police politics and the ghosts of the past, Detective Reilly uncovers shocking secrets and finds himself questioning who among his colleagues he can trust.

'What really did happen in that house where he first met Maude and Jack? The Ruin draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't.' (Publication Summary)

2019 winner Barry Awards Best Paperback Original
2019 winner Ned Kelly Awards for Crime Writing Best First Novel
2019 winner Davitt Award Best Adult Crime Novel
2019 longlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) The Matt Richell Award for New Writer
2019 shortlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian General Fiction Book of the Year
2019 longlisted Indie Awards Debut Fiction
2018 shortlisted Western Australian Premier's Book Awards Premier's Prize for an Emerging Writer
2018 shortlisted International Awards Irish Book Awards Crime Fiction and Listeners' Choice
Last amended 6 Mar 2018 10:07:29
Other mentions of "" in AustLit:
    X