AustLit logo
The Horne Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Horne Prize is presented by The Saturday Paper and cosmetics company Aesop. The prize is awarded in late December for an essay of up to 3000 words, addressing some part of the theme ‘Australian life’. The award is named for the late Donald Horne AO, in honour of his exceptional contribution to Australian letters. 

The Horne Prize was not offered in 2021.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2020

winner Steven Amsterdam for his essay, 'There and Here'.

Year: 2019

winner Rachael Lebeter for Diary of a Wildlife Carer

Year: 2018

winner Ten More Days Daniel James , 2018 single work essay
— Appears in: The Saturday Paper , 22 December - 25 January 2018-2019;

'The 2018 Horne Prize was awarded to this unique account of intergenerational trauma. By Daniel James.'

Year: 2017

Year: 2016

inaugural winner Anna Spargo-Ryan for the essay 'The Suicide Gene'

Works About this Award