AustLit logo
Issue Details: First known date: 2016... 2016 Malyalyimalyalyi/Lipanangku : The First Wave Hill Station
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'Wave Hill Station was originally established by Nat "Bluey' Buchanan in 1882 at Malyalyimalyalyi and Lipanangku, an area of the Victoria River just downstream of the area now known as Kalkaringi. The old yards are still in evidence. Sam 'Greenhide' Croker, who managed the first station, named the station 'Wave Hill' based on the terraced form of the hill on the southern side of the Victoria River. As Michael Terry, who first visited the station in 1923, noted, 'Behind the station to the south, there was a high terraced hill from which the station had received its name. The waves on its side could easily be seen from a considerable distance." The station was then stocked with 500 head of cattle in 1883 by Buchanan, brothers Hugh and Wattie Gordon, and Croker. As described in Chapter 3, the first decades of the occupation of Gurindji land were brutal. Gurindji numbers were severely depleted during this time; however, they actively resisted the occupation. Resistance involved killings of white pastoralists, ambushes of travelling parties and arson of station houses. Nonetheless, by 1901 Wave Hill Station had a 'blacks camp and by 1910 there were 30 Aboriginal station hands working on the station.' The following stories begin with Dandy Danbayarri's account of the death of a station manager at the hand of Gurindji men. Ronnie Wavehill then describes how Gurindji people came to settle at the station. The conclusion to the first era of occupation is marked by the destruction of Wave Hill Station by a massive flood in 1924.'  (Introduction)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

  • Appears in:
    y separately published work icon Yijarni : True Stories from Gurindji Country Erika Charola (editor), Felicity Meakins (editor), Canberra : Aboriginal Studies Press , 2016 9469367 2016 selected work prose Indigenous story

    'On 23 August 1966, approximately 200 Gurindji stockmen and their families walked off Wave Hill Station in the Northern Territory, protesting against poor working conditions and the taking of their land by pastoralists. Led by Vincent Lingiari, this land-mark action in 1966 precipitated the equal wages case in the pastoral industry and the establishment of the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976. While it is well known that the Walk Off was driven by the poor treatment of Aboriginal workers, what is less well known is the previous decades of massacres and killings, stolen children and other abuses by early colonists. Told in both English and Gurindji, these compelling and detailed oral accounts of the events that Gurindji elders either witnessed or heard from their parents and grandparents, will ignite the interest of audiences nationally and internationally and challenge revisionist historians who question the extent of frontier battles and the legitimacy of the Stolen Generations. ...' (Source: AIATSIS website)

    Canberra : Aboriginal Studies Press , 2016
    pg. 73
Last amended 25 Oct 2017 13:17:34
Subjects:
  • Daguragu / Kalkaringi / Wave Hill, Victoria River area, Central Northern Territory, Northern Territory,
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X