AustLit logo
XYZ Prize for Innovation in Spoken Word (2015-)
Subcategory of Queensland Poetry Festival Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Arts Queensland XYZ Prize for Innovation in Spoken Word is Australia’s only national arts award that recognises the growing field of spoken word and is named after the former 2010 Arts Queensland Poet in Residence, Emily XYZ, who left a deep impression on many of today’s Queensland spoken word artists. It is open to applicants Australia-wide.' (

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

winner Megan J. Riedl for 'Single White Female'.

Year: 2020

winner Eloise Grills with Jaslyn Robertson, for 'Erotic Thriller'.
winner Jaslyn Robertson with Eloise Grills, for 'Erotic Thriller'.

Year: 2019

Year: 2018

Year: 2017

winner Quinn Eades for 'Monday June 27'.