Source: Amazon.com
y When the Stone Shepherds Awaken single work   novel   science fiction  
Is part of Sabienn Feel Collection Mark Barkley 2015 series - author novel (number 1 in series)
Issue Details: First known date: 2015... 2015 When the Stone Shepherds Awaken
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

He was a freak, he thought, catching the lemon whiff of the suicide pill in his hand. Why had he been abandoned?

On a distant planet far off into the future, there is a human colony twice removed from Earth with a country preparing for war.

Sabienn Feel is a military cadet being fast-tracked for promotion as their enigmatic head of state, The Great Leader, readies his armies for battle. Sabienn is a lying, thieving cheat but he is earmarked for greatness, despite his erratic attempts to shoot himself in the foot.

His world comes crashing down when one day he grows wings.

With the shock of the hideous on him, he now finds people viewing his once perfect body as something freakish. But not only that; people are now actively trying to kill him.

He also finds out that not only him but thousands of men his age have grown wings around the world.

With his wings comes an intuitive ability to pick up an object and see a history of someone who held it. This ability has not gone unnoticed by higher powers within the realm.

But what is it that The Great Leader wants of him? What is it that he has to do to bring himself back into the love of this man he worships? Why does his survival lie with taking the life of a man whose guts he hates but he still questions it? And after all is done, will The Great Leader save him?

Source: Author's Blurb

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 24 Nov 2016 14:21:27
    Powered by Trove