AustLit News Home | AustLit Home

Stella Prize Longlist Announced

The longlist for the inaugural Stella Prize has been announced. It comprises a dozen titles, both fiction and non-fiction. The scope is wide-ranging, covering memoir, a verse novel, short stories, novels and a biography. The prize will be awarded in Melbourne on Tuesday, 16 April.

Named after one of Australia’s most important female authors, Stella Maria Miles Franklin, the Stella Prize is a new literary award for Australian women's writing. It is worth $50,000.

The dozen contenders for the prize are:

The works by Coleman and Espeseth both won prizes while in manuscript. Coleman's Mazin Grace won the David Unaipon Award in 2011 while Espeseth's Sufficient Grace won the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript in 2009. Jacobson's The Sunlit Zone was shortlisted for the same prize that year. De Kretser is a previous winner of the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction, and the ALS Gold Medal. Collins's book, The Burial, has already been optioned for film.

Send a TrackBack