AustLit News Home | AustLit Home

Reading List for the National Year of Reading

The National Year of Reading campaign is devising a list of books — one from each state and territory — that, read together, will describe the 'Australian experience'. An independent panel of readers has selected a shortlist of six books for each of the eight regions, 'choosing from a selection put forward by publishers and libraries'.

Australians are invited to vote for the books that 'together paint a picture of the Australian people and the land that we live in'. The list of books is dominated by contemporary novels and includes Chris Womersley's Bereft, Alex Miller's Journey to the Stone Country, Peter Goldsworthy's Three Dog Night, Julia Leigh's The Hunter and Craig Silvey's Jasper Jones. The full list is available on the National Year of Reading's website.

Voting begins on Tuesday, 1 November and closes on Friday, 6 January 2012. The chosen titles will be announced at the launch of the National Year of Reading to be held at the National Library of Australia on Tuesday, 14 February 2012. Voting is via the ABC's website or through your local library. (The ABC will activate its voting link in the coming days. Click here to check availability.)

Send a TrackBack