Christos Tsiolkas i(77 works by)
Born: Established: 1965 Melbourne, Victoria, ;
Gender: Male
Heritage: Greek
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit


Christos Tsiolkas, the son of Greek migrants, lived in a working class, predominantly Greek, Melbourne inner city suburb and attended state schools including Blackburn High School. He completed an Arts degree at the University of Melbourne in 1987 and has worked as writer and artist. His interest in film is evidenced in his writing the first monograph in Currency Press's Australian Film Classics series on Schepisi's film, The Devil's Playground, and his writing and directing of short films. He has also collaborated with photographer Zoe Ali on a series of exhibitions dealing with refuge and exile: Destination Unknown 1, 2 & 3, and on a Blake Prize 2011 shortlisted work 'A New Jeuasalem: Faith and the City', combining Ali's photographs of places of worship in Melbourne with texts from the Bible, Koran and Torah with his own writing on contemporary life and faith.

Awards for Works

Merciless Gods 2014 selected work short story

'A collection of thrilling, original and imaginative stories from the award-winning, bestselling author of The Slap and Barracuda - a showcase all of his immense and unique story-telling talents.

'Love, sex, death, family, friendship, betrayal, tenderness, sacrifice and revelation...

'This incendiary collection of stories from acclaimed bestselling international writer Christos Tsiolkas takes you deep into worlds both strange and familiar, and characters that will never let you go.' (Publication summary)

2015 longlisted ASAL Awards ALS Gold Medal
2015 winner Queensland Literary Awards Australian Short Story Collection - Steele Rudd Award
2015 shortlisted Voss Literary Prize
Barracuda 2013 single work novel

'He asked the water to lift him, to carry him, to avenge him. He made his muscles shape his fury, made every stroke declare his hate. And the water obeyed; the water would give him his revenge. No one could beat him, no one came close.

'His whole life Danny Kelly's only wanted one thing: to win Olympic gold. Everything he's ever done - every thought, every dream, every action - takes him closer to that moment of glory, of vindication, when the world will see him for what he is: the fastest, the strongest and the best. His life has been a preparation for that moment.

'His parents struggle to send him to the most prestigious private school with the finest swimming program; Danny loathes it there and is bullied and shunned as an outsider, but his coach is the best and knows Danny is, too, better than all those rich boys, those pretenders. Danny's win-at-all-cost ferocity gradually wins favour with the coolest boys - he's Barracuda, he's the psycho, he's everything they want to be but don't have the guts to get there. He's going to show them all.

'He would be first, everything would be alright when he came first, all would be put back in place. When he thought of being the best, only then did he feel calm.

'A searing and provocative novel by the acclaimed author of the international bestseller The Slap, Barracuda is an unflinching look at modern Australia, at our hopes and dreams, our friendships, and our families.

'Should we teach our children to win, or should we teach them to live? How do we make and remake our lives? Can we atone for our past? Can we overcome shame? And what does it mean to be a good person?

'Barracuda is about living in Australia right now, about class and sport and politics and migration and education. It contains everything a person is: family and friendship and love and work, the identities we inhabit and discard, the means by which we fill the holes at our centre. It's brutal and tender and blazingly brilliant; everything we have come to expect from this fearless vivisector of our lives and world. ' (Publisher's blurb)

2014 shortlisted Indie Awards Fiction
2014 shortlisted ASAL Awards ALS Gold Medal
2014 shortlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian Literary Fiction Book of the Year
2014 shortlisted Voss Literary Prize
The Slap 2008 single work novel

'At a suburban barbecue, a man slaps a child who is not his own.

'This event has a shocking ricochet effect on a group of people, mostly friends, who are directly or indirectly influenced by the event.

'In this remarkable novel, Christos Tsiolkas turns his unflinching and all-seeing eye onto that which connects us all: the modern family and domestic life in the twenty-first century. The Slap is told from the points of view of eight people who were present at the barbecue. The slap and its consequences force them all to question their own families and the way they live, their expectations, beliefs and desires.

'What unfolds is a powerful, haunting novel about love, sex and marriage, parenting and children, and the fury and intensity - all the passions and conflicting beliefs - that family can arouse. In its clear-eyed and forensic dissection of the ever-growing middle class and its aspirations and fears, The Slap is also a poignant, provocative novel about the nature of loyalty and happiness, compromise and truth.' (Publisher's blurb)

2010 longlisted International Awards International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award
2010 winner Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) International Success Award
2010 longlisted International Awards Booker Prize (UK)
2010 shortlisted Galaxy National Book Awards Galaxy International Author of the Year
2009 winner South East Asia and South Pacific Region Best Book
2009 winner ASAL Awards ALS Gold Medal
2009 shortlisted Miles Franklin Literary Award
2009 winner International Awards Commonwealth Writers Prize
2009 winner Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian Literary Fiction Book of the Year
2009 winner Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian Book of the Year
2009 winner Victorian Premier's Literary Awards The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction
2009 shortlisted Queensland Premier's Literary Awards Best Fiction Book
2009 winner Booksellers Choice Award
2008 shortlisted Colin Roderick Award
Other mentions of in AustLit: