This image has been sourced from online.
form y My Place Series Two single work   film/TV  
Adaptation of My Place : The Story of Australia from Now to Then Nadia Wheatley Donna Rawlins 1987 single work picture book
My Place Series Two Issue Details: First known date: 2011... 2011
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

The story of one place on earth told by the children who live there from 1878 to before white settlement. The second part of MY PLACE, the series is based on the Nadia Wheatley/ Donna Rawlins book. (Source: Screen Australia website)


y My Place : The Story of Australia from Now to Then My Place Nadia Wheatley , Donna Rawlins , Donna Rawlins (illustrator), Blackburn : Collins Dove , 1987 Z795146 1987 single work picture book children's historical fiction (taught in 7 units)

'My Place, the classic Australian picture book, is a "time machine" which takes the reader back into the past. It depicts the history of one particular piece of land in Sydney from 1788 to 1988 through the stories of the various children who have lived there. It aims to teach the reader about the history of Australia, about families, settlers, multiculturalism, and the traditional owners of the land. Each child's story covers a decade in time, showing their particular dress, customs and family life.

'The book also features maps that the successive generations of children have 'drawn' which demonstrate the things that have changed - as well as the things that have remained constant. My Place ultimately aims to show "that everyone is part of History" and that "every place has a story as old as the earth".' -- Provided by publisher (2008 ed.)


  • Episodes:

    Episode 14 -1878 Henry

    Episode 15 -1868 Minna

    Episode 16 - 1858 Ben

    Episode 17 - 1848 Johanna

    Episode 18 - 1838 Davey

    Episode 19 - 1828 Alice

    Episode 20 - 1818 Charles

    Episode 21 - 1808 Sarah

    Episode 22 - 1798 Sam

    Episode 23 - 1788 Waruwi

    Episode 24 - 1788 Dan

    Episode 25 - Before Time: Bunda

    Episode 26 - Before Time: Barangaroo

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of