y The Tintagel Cycle series - author   novel   historical fiction  
Issue Details: First known date: 2015 2015
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

Conceived as a trilogy, the Tintagel Cycle books chart the life of the first High Kings of the Britons.

Includes

1
y The Blood of Kings M. K. Hume , Sydney : Hachette Australia , 2015 8426247 2015 single work novel fantasy

'The start of a stunning new trilogy charting the life of the first High King of the Britons, sure to appeal to fans of George R R Martin, Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow

'Flavius Magnus Maximus, a man of great ability and enormous charm, is hailed as one of the most influential Roman officers in Britain. When he befriends Caradoc Strong Arm, the King of the Dumnonii Tribe in Tintagel, he gains an understanding of the disunity that exists between the tribal kings of Britain and thus an ambitious plan ignites within Maximus's mind...

'As the first High King of the Britons, Maximus gathers together a huge force of brave Roman and British warriors and leads them into battle at Gaul. He has cast his eyes on the throne of the Emperor of Rome and nothing will stand in his way...' (Publication summary)

2
y The Poisoned Throne M. K. Hume , London : Headline Review , 2016 10197761 2016 single work novel fantasy

'A decade has passed since the death of Caradoc, King of the Dumnonii tribe, and his friend, Flavius Magnus Maximus. Britain is battered by Pict invaders, and centurion Constantinus and his legionnaires are fighting them to the death. Maximus's daughter, Lady Severa, holds the key to the throne of the High King of the Britons and when she is threatened with abduction, Constantinus escorts her to the safety of Tintagel. Agreeing to marry her, he is crowned the High King, and Severa bears him two sons, Ambrosius and Uther. But, as the ruler of Britain, Constantinus is poisoned by greed and jealousy, and his thirst for greatness in the Roman Empire will cost him dear...' (publication blurb)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 2015
Last amended 5 Oct 2016 07:00:57
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X